Parker willing to face Chisora, wants rematch with 'lucky' Whyte
Joseph Parker's promoter says the former WBO champion wants a rematch with Dillian Whyte, who "got lucky" in their first fight last year.
Whyte – who has won nine on the spin since his solitary pro loss at the hands of rival Anthony Joshua - is yet to reveal his next move after beating Dereck Chisora for a second time in December.
As for Parker, he was offered the opportunity to face Chisora in April but rejected the bout due to a lack of preparation time.
Promoter David Higgins feels Parker should get another crack at Whyte after the latter won on points at the O2 Arena last July, having felt aggrieved over a clash of heads in the second round.
Parker is willing to accept a bout with another Londoner in Chisora if given enough notice, yet Higgins believes the New Zealander has unfinished business with Whyte.
Higgins told Omnisport: "There is no ego in the Joseph Parker-Duco Events camp. Some heavyweights are obsessed with being the main event and will not be on the undercard.
"Provided they put the right deal on the table we will happily be on the undercard for a Whyte fight in July. Whyte would then hopefully explain why he thought it wasn't fair to give Joseph Parker a well-deserved rematch."
He added: "The one that publicly said he is prepared to step up is Chisora, so credit to him for having the spine to step up. At the moment that looks possible, but the deal and the timeline has to be right.
"We privately and publicly suggested that Dillian Whyte should give Joseph Parker a rematch just out of respect and honour because the cold, hard facts are that a proper headbutt was ruled a knockdown by the referee and not only did it create a draw into a loss, it also left Parker concussed for several rounds.
"Dillian won and got lucky through an officiating error, that is fine but we suggested a rematch and nobody in England would have complained if there was a rematch because it was a damn good, close contest.
"Parker pretty much knocked him out at the end and Whyte got up to scrape a win. I think Eddie Hearn would be willing to book a rematch, but the Whyte team - and Dillian Whyte himself - have not acknowledged they got lucky and they have not commented about the headbutt or officiating error.
"Whyte calls out all sorts of heavyweights all the time, but he never mentions Joseph Parker, well what does that tell you?
"I think having got lucky against Parker, Whyte wants to go in a different direction for a world title shot or some money and that's fine, but I'm fairly certain Parker and Whyte will meet again some time."