Rams' Robey-Coleman admits he committed penalty on controversial no-call
Los Angeles Rams defensive back Nickell Robey-Coleman admitted he committed a penalty against the New Orleans Saints in their controversial 26-23 NFC championship victory.
With the score tied at 20 late in the fourth quarter and the ball in the red zone on Sunday, Saints quarterback Drew Brees threw the ball down the sideline to Tommylee Lewis.
The wide receiver, however, was knocked down by Robey-Coleman and failed to catch the pass.
Robey-Coleman appeared to make contact with Lewis before the ball arrive, but the referees did not throw a flag. The Saints ended up kicking a field goal and the Rams answered with one of their own to force overtime, in which Los Angeles prevailed to reach the NFL Super Bowl.
GREG THE LEG FOR THE SUPER BOWL!!! pic.twitter.com/KxpDuVfkt0— Los Angeles Rams (@RamsNFL) January 21, 2019
Rams DB Robey-Coleman discussed the controversial play with reporters after the game.
"Yes, I got there too early," he said, via Sports Illustrated. "I was beat, and I was trying to save the touchdown."
Robey-Coleman told media he expected to see a flag. He also said the referees were letting "more and more go as the game progressed".
The Rams will face the winner of the AFC championship game between the Kansas City Chiefs and New England Patriots in Super Bowl LIII.