Slater to captain Maroons in Origin farewell

Billy Slater will lead an injury-hit Queensland in his final State of Origin game as the Maroons look to avoid a series whitewash against New South Wales.

Slater, 35, is retiring from representative action after the final game of the series in Brisbane on July 11.

The Melbourne Storm star will bid farewell to the Maroons as skipper, named captain as Queensland try to avoid a 3-0 series defeat.

Greg Inglis (broken thumb) and Kalyn Ponga (hamstring) are sidelined, while Daly Cherry-Evans comes in at half-back.

New South Wales made just one change, with Paul Vaughan replacing Matt Prior in the starting front row and Tariq Sims earning his Origin debut on the bench.

The Blues claimed a 22-12 win in game one before sealing the series with an 18-14 success.

New South Wales last completed a series whitewash in 2000.


Queensland: 1.Billy Slater, 2.Valentine Holmes, 3.Dane Gagai, 4.Will Chambers, 5.Corey Oates, 6.Cameron Munster, 7.Daly Cherry-Evans, 8.Jai Arrow, 9.Andrew McCullough, 10.Josh Papalii, 11.Gavin Cooper, 12.Felise Kaufusi, 13.Josh McGuire, 14.Ben Hunt, 15.Jarrod Wallace, 16.Coen Hess, 17.Tim Glasby, 18.Dylan Napa.

New South Wales: 1.James Tedesco, 2.Tom Trbojevic, 3.Latrell Mitchell, 4.James Roberts, 5.Josh Addo-Carr, 6.James Maloney, 7.Nathan Cleary, 8.David Klemmer, 9.Damien Cook, 10.Paul Vaughan, 11.Boyd Cordner, 12.Tyson Frizell, 13.Jack de Belin, 14.Tariq Sims, 15.Jake Trbojevic, 16.Angus Crichton, 17.Tyrone Peachey, 18.Ryan James.

Read Full Story