World Rugby acknowledged TMO mistake, Wales claim
World Rugby has acknowledged the television match official (TMO) made a mistake in denying Gareth Anscombe a try for Wales in their 12-6 defeat to England on Saturday, according to Rob Howley.
Anscombe was deemed to have not grounded the ball cleanly under pressure from Anthony Watson in the first half of the Six Nations showdown at Twickenham.
Wales coach Warren Gatland described the contentious interpretation as a "terrible mistake".
His assistant Howley has claimed Alain Rolland, the former referee who heads up World Rugby's team of elite match officials, has spoken to the Wales camp to admit to the error on behalf of his personnel.
"I know Warren Gatland spoke to Alain Rolland, and they confirmed that the TMO made a mistake," said Howley.
"It was good to have dialogue with World Rugby. That phone call took place - I think it was Monday - and Alain Rolland confirmed on behalf of World Rugby that the TMO made a mistake.
"It's happened. It is disappointing that happens in professional sport, but we focus on the next two weeks and getting ourselves ready for Ireland.
"There was plenty of time after that decision. We had a couple of opportunities which we should have taken."
FULL TIME: ENG 12-6 WAL | Huge desire from both sides in a brutal contest at England HQ, which goes the way of the hosts. Cystadleuaeth hynod o gorfforol yn Twickenham. Diolch am eich cefnogaeth. #ENGvWALpic.twitter.com/Q5TVQph746-- Welsh Rugby Union (@WelshRugbyUnion) February 10, 2018
Wales have been badly affected by injuries this year, but Leigh Halfpenny, Dan Biggar and Taulupe Faletau are all expected to return to full training this week ahead of the team's next match away to Ireland on February 24.