Alfred Dunhill Championship scrapped for 2017


Brandon Stone will not get the chance to defend his Alfred Dunhill Championship title in 2017 due to the event being scrapped.

Planned improvements at Leopard Creek mean the course will not be ready to host the Sunshine Tour competition, which is co-sanctioned by the European Tour.

The event has taken place in Malalane since 2004, with Charl Schwartzel its most successful player, having triumphed on four occasions.

Ernie Els, Justin Rose and Adam Scott are also among the previous winners of the Alfred Dunhill Championship.

"Leopard Creek is synonymous with the Alfred Dunhill Championship and although we are disappointed we fully understand that the improvements scheduled for this magnificent facility will re-enforce Leopard Creek as the number one course in the country," said Selwyn Nathan, executive director of the Sunshine Tour.