Rigondeaux's controversial Flores victory could be reviewed

Updated: 

Guillermo Rigondeaux's controversial knockout over Moises Flores could be overturned should the Nevada Athletic Commission rule his decisive punch was landed after the bell.

The unbeaten Rigondeaux retained his WBA Super bantamweight title in Las Vegas on Saturday, but the victory was shrouded in controversy.

Replays appeared to show that Rigondeaux connected with the knockout blow after the bell had sounded at the end of the first round, while the Cuban also seemed to land punches while holding his opponent's head.

After a lengthy deliberation, Rigondeaux was confirmed as the winner, but he may be disqualified if the incident is reviewed.

"We will take a look at it," Nevada Athletic Commission executive director Bob Bennett told HBO.

"If the punch landed after the bell it is a disqualification.

"We want the right fighter to win. Anything is possible. We could take a look at it and do the right thing."

Flores was in no doubt that the punch had come after the end of the round, but the victor was confident he had done nothing wrong.

"It's not fair. It's clear that the bell rang," said the Mexican. "He didn't throw a punch the whole round. I was winning the round and he waited for after the bell to throw [a] punch when I dropped my hands down."

Rigondeaux countered: "We both threw combinations at the same time at the end of the first round. But mine was quicker and more accurate. It was only a matter of time."