Curry to become youngest England debutant since Wilkinson

Tom Curry will become the youngest England debutant since Jonny Wilkinson in Saturday's Test against Argentina after he was named as one of four uncapped players in Eddie Jones' starting XV.

The Sale Sharks flanker, 18, will make his senior international bow five days before his 19th birthday - 46 days older than legendary fly-half Wilkinson when he first appeared against Ireland in April 1998.

Curry is joined by fellow first-timers Alex Lozowski, Harry Williams and Mark Wilson in the starting line-up, while Sale colleague Denny Solomona is among seven new faces on the bench after recovering from a foot injury.

Jones is missing a host of familiar names for the trip to South America, which runs alongside the British and Irish Lions' tour of New Zealand, but is able to call upon captain Dylan Hartley and experienced figures such as Mike Brown, George Ford and Danny Care.

"I'm really excited about this England team to face Argentina this weekend," said Jones. "I have selected a group of experienced players across the spine of this team as well as four young players who will be eager to go out and play well on their debuts for England.

"Those players have worked extremely hard to get selected over the last few weeks, but I have been impressed with the way the whole squad has trained and gelled together in a short amount of time.

"They all realise the opportunity that they have to be involved in this England side and I'm sure they will show that commitment on Saturday.

"We are here to win this series 2-0 but we know Argentina will be extremely tough opposition. After a mixed year of results, there will be pressure on them to play well and win in front of a partisan crowd.

"We know Argentina are a very good side having played them earlier this season and they will be desperate to win against us."


England XV: Mike Brown, Marland Yarde, Henry Slade, Alex Lozowski, Jonny May, George Ford, Danny Care; Ellis Genge, Dylan Hartley (captain), Harry Williams, Joe Launchbury, Charlie Ewels, Mark Wilson, Tom Curry, Nathan Hughes.

Replacements: Jack Singleton, Matt Mullan, Will Collier, Nick Isiekwe, Don Armand, Jack Maunder, Piers Francis, Denny Solomona.

Read Full Story