Uncapped Jordie Barrett, Laumape named in All Blacks squad


Uncapped Hurricanes duo Jordie Barrett and Ngani Laumape were included in a 33-man New Zealand squad for their Test series against the British and Irish Lions.

Jordie joins Beauden and Scott as the first sibling trio to be named in an All Blacks squad.

They will be just the fourth set of three brothers to play for the All Blacks, joining the Brownlie, Nicholls and Whitelocks.

Laumape, 24, made his Super Rugby debut for Hurricanes at the start of the 2016 season and with 14 tries, he is the joint leading try-scorer this campaign.

"Obviously, it's a very special occasion for the Barrett and Laumape families, with Jordie and Ngani being selected for the first time," All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen said.

"Jordie has been in outstanding form, he has a skillset which is complete and has a great running and kicking game. Ngani too has been impressive throughout the Super [Rugby] season and has forced his way in through commanding performances.

"This has been by far the toughest team that we've had to select for some time and some players who are in very good form missed out, and we always feel for them.

"But as is the nature of Test rugby I'm sure a number of them will get an opportunity, if not in this series, then throughout the season."

Kieran Read will again captain the squad, who also face Samoa on June 16 before the first of three Tests against the Lions eight days later.

The All Blacks have a total of 1,164 Test caps experience with a large mix of Super Rugby teams represented.

New Zealand will be heavy favourites for the series, with only the 1971 Lions having beaten the All Blacks.


New Zealand squad: Beauden Barrett, Jordie Barrett, Scott Barrett, Sam Cane, Dane Coles, Wyatt Crockett, Ryan Crotty, Aaron Cruden, Israel Dagg, Charlie Faumuina, Owen Franks, Nathan Harris, Rieko Ioane, Jerome Kaino, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Ngani Laumape, Anton Lienert-Brown, Joe Moody, Waisake Naholo, TJ Perenara, Kieran Read, Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano, Ardie Savea, Julian Savea, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Liam Sopoaga, Liam Squire, Codie Taylor, Ofa Tu'ungafasi, Samuel Whitelock, Sonny Bill Williams.

Injury cover: Liam Coltman, Vaea Fifita, Jack Goodhue, Akira Ioane, Matt Todd.