Sweden crowned world champions after shoot-out win over Canada


Sweden ended Canada's reign as IIHF World Championship holders with a dramatic shoot-out victory in Cologne on Sunday.

Canada won the title in each of the last two years, but they were dethroned in a tense showdown at the Lanxess Arena after the two sides were locked at 1-1 following overtime.

Nicklas Backstrom and Oliver Ekman-Larsson held their nerve to score in the shoot-out, with Henrik Lundqvist saving three times and Ryan O'Reilly firing wide in a gripping conclusion to the tournament.

O'Reilly levelled in the third period after Victor Hedman had put Sweden in front with a short-handed goal in the second, but it took a shoot-out to settle it.

Sweden had not won a World Championship since 2013 and they celebrated in style on the ice after Lundqvist kept out Mitch Marner's effort to make them champions for a 10th time.

Russia earlier claimed bronze for the second successive year with a 5-3 defeat of Finland.

Nikita Gusev scored a double and laid another goal on, ensuring Russia won a medal for the fourth World Championship in a row.