Jungels takes stage glory as GC leaders contest thrilling finish in Bergamo


Bob Jungels claimed victory on stage 15 of the Giro d'Italia as all of the leading names in the general classification featured prominently in a thrilling finish.

Following two significant climbs on Sunday, it was Quick-Step Floors rider Jungels who had the most left in the tank - the leader of the young rider standings edging out Nairo Quintana.

By finishing second, Movistar rider Quintana earned a time bonus to shave six seconds off the lead held by Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) in the battle for the maglia rosa.

Yet Dumoulin, who was also among the first finishers in Bergamo together with GC rivals Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) and Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain - Merida), retains a healthy cushion of two minutes and 41 seconds over the Colombian.

After two early breakaways had proven unsuccessful, Rudy Molard (FDJ), Jacques Janse van Rensburg (Team Dimension Data) and Philip Deignan (Team Sky) hit the front, with four further riders - Julen Amezqueta Moreno (Wilier Triestina - Selle Italia), Pierre Rolland (Cannondale-Drapac), Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF) and Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) - positioning themselves between the leading trio and the peloton. 

Quintana then suffered a fall ahead of the day's second climb, but was swiftly helped back into the peloton by his Movistar team-mates as Sanchez and Rolland joined the front-runners.

As the peloton caught the leaders in the closing kilometres, Rolland and Jungels each launched attacks, with Nibali and Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R La Mondiale) also making their move.

Yet it was Jungels who took victory to strengthen his hold on the maglia bianca.



Jungels was the day's star performer, but spare a thought for Astana's Tanel Kangert, whose participation in the event was brought to a halt in sickening fashion.

Kangert was sent flying over his handlebars after crashing into a mounted road sign at high speed. He was subsequently diagnosed with a fractured left elbow.


1. Bob Jungels? (Quick-Step Floors) 4:16:51
2. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) 
3. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)
4. Adam Yates (Orica-Scott) 
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R La Mondiale)


1. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) 63:48:08
2. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) +2:41
3. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) +3:21
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain - Merida) +3:40
5. Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha Alpecin) +4:24


1. Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) 325
2. Jasper Stuyven (Trek Segafredo) 192
3. Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) 117


1. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) 51
2. Omar Fraile (Dimension Data) 49
3. Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) 46



There will be a welcome break for the field on Monday, the final rest day of this year's Giro.