Back-to-back wins for Vinales as Marquez crashes out

Marc Marquez saw his chances of victory at the Argentina Grand Prix slip away as he crashed out, handing a second win of the 2017 MotoGP season to Maverick Vinales.

Repsol Honda rider Marquez cruised to pole position on Saturday and made a superb start to the race, opening up a 1.6-second advantage over Vinales in the early laps.

However, coming into turn two of lap three, Marquez's bike lost grip and he slid into the gravel trap, the damage to his bike too much to allow the world champion to get back on track.

That saw Vinales assume the lead with his Movistar Yamaha team-mate Valentino Rossi chasing him down behind Carl Crutchlow.

Neither could reel Vinales in, though, as the 22-year-old claimed back-to-back wins from the opening two races - a perfect start for Jorge Lorenzo's replacement.

Instead, Rossi and Crutchlow were engaged in a thrilling battle for second place and it was the Italian who prevailed with seven laps remaining on his 350th MotoGP.


Everything was going to plan for Marquez - get away well and open up a nice lead. But, as he pushed to build his advantage over Vinales, his hopes were left in the gravel, Marquez noticeably frustrated with his mistake.

"I was feeling really good in the warm-up," he said. "I was riding really good and I don't know why but I made a mistake.

"It makes me disappointed." 



It was another race to forget for Jorge Lorenzo as he continues to struggle on the Ducati, the three-time world champion failing to finish a single lap.

Lorenzo made a good start from the sixth row of the grid, but, by the end of turn one, he was out after clipping Andrea Iannone's back wheel.

The 29-year-old tried to get back into the race, but was forced to withdraw, adding to the disappointment of his 11th-placed finish in Qatar.



Maverick Vinales (Movistar Yamaha) 41:45.060secs
Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) 41:47.975s
Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) 41:48.814s
Alvaro Bautista (Aspar) 41:51.583s
Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) 42:00.564s
Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) 42:03.301s
Danilo Petrucci (OCTO Pramac Racing) 42:05.106s
Scott Redding (OCTO Pramac Racing) 42:10.540s
Jack Miller (Marc VDS) 42:10.725s
Karel Abraham (Aspar) 42:11.463s


Maverick Vinales (Movistar Yamaha) 50
Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) 36
Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 20
Scott Redding (OCTO Pramac Racing) 17
Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) 16


After his Argentina disappointment, Marquez will be delighted to see the Grand Prix of the Americas next on the schedule, the Repsol Honda rider has won all four races in Austin since its inception in 2013.



Read Full Story