India regain Border-Gavaskar trophy with crushing win

India regained the Border-Gavaskar trophy after securing a comprehensive eight-wicket victory in the fourth and final Test against Australia on Tuesday.

The trophy had been in the hands of the Australians since 2014-15 after Steve Smith's men won that four-match series 2-0.

But the Border-Gavaskar trophy made its way back to Indian shores after the hosts successfully chased down the 106 runs set for victory during the morning session in Dharamsala, where a 2-1 series triumph was sealed on the penultimate day.

Following a dramatic third day, India resumed on 19-0 and needed just 87 more runs with all 10 wickets in hand, and there was inevitably in the air, despite the loss of two early wickets.

Openers KL Rahul (52 not out) and Murali Vijay returned to the crease with two full days still remaining to achieve victory but there was some questionable decision making as the former's team-mates gave the Aussies a glimmer of hope.

Touring captain Smith unleashed Josh Hazlewood (0-14) and Steve O'Keefe (0-23) in an attempt to make an early breakthrough, however it was paceman Pat Cummins (1-42) and Glenn Maxwell who created a hint of doubt among the crowd at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium.

A couple of early appeals were ignored but the Australians chipped away at the uphill task when Cummins got the wicket of Vijay for eight.

It got a little more interesting after Maxwell's direct hit saw Cheteshwar Pujara run out for a duck as India slumped to 46-2.

But Rahul and Ajinkya Rahane (38 not out) - who hit back-to-back sixes in the 20th over - ensured the runs kept ticking over as the Indians eased to victory.

Read Full Story