Henao edges out Contador for Paris-Nice victory


Team Sky's Sergio Henao hung on to claim a dramatic Paris-Nice triumph on Sunday as Alberto Contador suffered another agonising near-miss.

The Colombian was integral to Geraint Thomas' triumph at the same event in 2016 and this time the glory was his, with Trek-Segafredo's Contador coming up short despite a brave final-stage ride as he sought to overturn a 30-second deficit.

Remarkably, the Spaniard - who lost by only four seconds last year - missed out by an even smaller margin, with just two seconds between the two-time winner and Henao.

It was Quick-Step Floors' David de la Cruz who took the honours on a thrilling eighth and final stage, which ran for 115.5 kilometres, starting and ending in Nice.

The result was up in the air until the final throes, with Contador having at one point been the virtual leader following a daring break for the line, which he crossed narrowly behind De la Cruz.

But Henao, who did not win any of the individual stages, had enough left in the tank to reel in a few crucial seconds, despite losing the assistance of his fellow Sky riders for the closing kilometres.


General Classification

1. Sergio Henoa (Team Sky) 29:50.29

2. Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) +00.02

3. Daniel Martin (Quick-Step Floors) +00.30

4. Gorka Izaguirre (Movistar) + 01.00

5. Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) +01.22


Points Classification

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) 42

2. Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) 41

3. John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) 30


Climbing Classification

1. Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie) 63

2. Axel Domont (AG2R La Mondiale) 42

3. Alberto Contador (Trek Segafredo) 24