Kurt Busch wins crash-filled Daytona 500


After three second-place finishes in the Daytona 500, Kurt Busch is finally a winner of the famous race.

The veteran driver won the first race of the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup season on Sunday after passing Kyle Larson, who ran out of fuel, on the final lap.

Chase Elliott was in the lead with three laps remaining but Martin Truex Jr. was able to clear him on the high side, beginning a series of passes on the final two laps of the Daytona 500. 

Ryan Blaney was second followed by AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola and Paul Menard. 

Popular drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Busch and Jimmie Johnson were all involved in race-ending wrecks, as were a number of others.

According to Fox Sports, 35 of the 40-car field were involved in a wreck in some way or another.

New this season, races will consist of three stages, with championship implications in each stage.

The winner of the first two stages of each race will receive one play-off point, and the race winner will receive five play-off points.

Each play-off point will be added to a driver's reset total following the 26th race, if that competitor makes the play-offs.

For Daytona, the race consisted of two 60-lap segments, followed by a final 80-lap segment.

Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick won the first and second segments.