Holm fumes at De Randamie's 'intentional' late punches

Updated: 

Holly Holm claimed Germaine de Randamie intentionally threw punches after the bell of two rounds on her way to being crowned the first UFC women's featherweight title winner.

Holm was unanimously beaten by De Randamie at UFC 208, but the fight was clouded in controversy.

A right hook after the bell in the second round caught Holm and De Randamie threw another late punch at the end of the third. However, neither incident resulted in points being deducted from her card.

De Randamie insisted she had not thrown the late blows on purpose but Holm felt the Dutch fighter knew exactly what she was doing.

"A lot of times with the first one they give a warning, that's kind of normal, I wouldn't expect them to take a point after the first one, even though it was intentional," she told a media conference. 

"Then at the second time you think they would do something but [they didn't]. It was after the bell, I heard the bell and stopped and she threw it anyway, it wasn't like the last punch of a combination when the bell rings, it was intentional.

"Those were some of her best shots of the night after the bell, I don't know how the judges saw that, if they see that as points for her then what can you do?

"I should have kept fighting too, I should have capitalised on moments when I did well and not let her get to that point. I still feel I could've won the fight on my own."

UFC president Dana White appeared to side with Holm after the fight, as he criticised the officials and suggested the result of the bout should have been a draw.

"I feel like the ref from New York shouldn't be reffing a main event fight," he said on Fox Sports. 

"They don't have enough experience. He should not have been in there. But, again, we don't make those decisions. The commission does, and it was a bad decision by them. 

"And if that guy takes a point for hitting after the bell, it's a draw."