Ronchi set for New Zealand return

Luke Ronchi is back for New Zealand after being named in their Twenty20 and one-day international squads to face South Africa.

Ronchi, who has been sidelined with an adductor injury, was included in the 14-man squads.

Black Caps selector Gavin Larsen said the return of the 35-year-old wicketkeeper was a huge boost.

"The way we performed in the Twenty20 series against Bangladesh was really pleasing and it's a format we've been consistent in over a long period," he said.

"It's an exciting team. There's a lot of experience, but you also have the likes of Tom Bruce, Ben Wheeler and Lockie Ferguson who have made bright starts to their international careers.

"It will be great to have Luke back in the mix. He's the number one white-ball wicketkeeper in the country and brings considerable experience to the group."

Colin Munro drops out of the ODI squad which enjoyed a Chappell-Hadlee series success against Australia, while Ish Sodhi keeps his spot.

Larsen said that would give Jimmy Neesham an opportunity to bat higher up the order.

"Colin hasn't quite shown the consistency he would like in the middle-order and we feel Jimmy is deserved of an opportunity with the bat at six," he said.

"Having two front-line spinners in the side gives us flexibility and Ish is an aggressive bowler who in the right conditions can be a real threat for us.

"South Africa are the top ranked team and have a number of players who can change the game very quickly. It's going to be a massive challenge."

The only T20 between the nations is on Friday before five ODIs, the first of which is on February 19.

New Zealand T20 squad: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Wheeler

New Zealand ODI squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor

Read Full Story