Tomlinson, Warner make Hall of Fame but Owens denied

Terrell Owens will have to wait a little longer after not being elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in his second year of eligibility.

While Owens did not get in, former San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson headlines the 2017 Hall of Fame class.

Former St Louis Rams and Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner will join Tomlinson for enshrinement in Canton, Ohio on August 5, along with former Miami Dolphins pass rusher Jason Taylor, former Denver Broncos running back Terrell Davis, former New Orleans Saints and Atlanta Falcons kicker Morten Andersen and former Seattle Seahawks safety Kenny Easley.

Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones was also elected to the Hall of Fame as a contributor.

Andersen, the NFL's all-time scoring leader, joins Jan Stenerud as the only true kickers in the Hall.

Andersen successfully converted 565 field goals and missed just 10 extra points in 859 attempts in his 25-year career. 

Tomlinson is the Chargers' all-time leading rusher, and ranks fifth on the NFL's all-time list with 13,684 yards. He and Taylor, who retired in 2011, were elected in their first year of eligibility. The only other finalist in his first year of eligibility was former Philadelphia Eagles and Broncos safety Brian Dawkins. 

Warner, who was named NFL MVP in 1999 and 2001, helped the Rams win Super Bowl XXXIV. He went back to the Super Bowl with the Cardinals in 2008. Warner's 208 career touchdown passes ties him with Jay Cutler and Kerry Collins for 35th all-time.

Davis was voted into the Hall despite playing just seven years and only three Pro Bowl selections. While his career was short and he had just three seasons of high productivity, those three seasons were deemed great enough to get him into the Hall. David was the NFL MVP in 2008 after rushing for 2,008 yards and helping the Broncos win Super Bowl XXXIII. He was the MVP of Super Bowl XXXII as he ran for 157 yards and three touchdowns in a 31-24 win over the Green Bay Packers.

Like Davis, Easley had just a seven-year career, but was a five-time Pro Bowler and the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year in 1984, when he had 10 of his 32 career interceptions. Easley was also the 1981 AFC Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Since Jones bought the Cowboys in 1989, they have reached the playoffs 14 times and won three Super Bowl titles.

Owens, who is second all-time in receiving yards with 15,934, third in receiving touchdowns with 153, and eighth with 1,078 receptions, was denied likely due to his reputation as a divisive teammate, though he did help lead the Eagles to the Super Bowl in 2004. 

Former commissioner Paul Tagliabue, who was the other contributor finalist with Jones, was not elected.

Read Full Story