Ryan, Prescott big award winners

Atlanta Falcons star Matt Ryan was honoured with three awards on Saturday, including NFL MVP.

The last time the NFL MVP won the Super Bowl in the same season was in 2000, when Kurt Warner went on to be Super Bowl MVP while leading the St Louis Rams to a championship.

Ryan is hoping he can do this year what Cam Newton could not in 2016.

He was honoured Saturday with three awards, including the 2016 NFL MVP, the night before he will lead the Falcons against the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LI.

Ryan, who did not attend the awards show at the Wortham Theater Center in Houston, was also named the FedEx Air Player of the Year and the Associated Press Offensive Player of the Year. 

Oakland Raiders defensive end Khalil Mack was the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year.

While many expected Dallas Cowboys rookie running back Ezekiel Elliott to be named the league's top offensive rookie, that honour went to his team-mate.

Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott was the league's Offensive Rookie of the Year after previously being selected by fans as the Pepsi Rookie of the Year. 

San Diego Chargers defensive end Joey Bosa was the NFL's Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Elliott was named the FedEx Ground Player of the Year after leading the league in rushing this season. 

For just the third time in 47 years, two men shared the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, as New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning and Arizona Cardinals receiver Larry Fitzgerald were honoured as co-recipients. 

Here's the list of complete winners from the 2017 NFL Honors Awards show:

Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Year: Dak Prescott, QB, Cowboys

FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year: Matt Ryan, QB, Falcons; Ezekiel Elliott, RB, Cowboys

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Dak Prescott, QB, Cowboys

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Joey Bosa, DE, Chargers

AP Most Valuable Player: Matt Ryan, QB, Falcons

AP Offensive Player of the Year: Matt Ryan, QB, Falcons

AP Defensive Player of the Year: Khalil Mack, DE, Raiders

AP Comeback Player of the Year: Jordy Nelson, WR, Packers

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year: Eli Manning, QB, Giants; Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Cardinals 

AP Coach of the Year: Jason Garrett, Cowboys

AP Assistant Coach of the Year: Kyle Shanahan, offensive coordinator, Falcons

Art Rooney Award: Frank Gore, RB, Colts

Salute To Service Award: Dan Quinn, coach, Falcons

Clutch Performer of the Year: Derek Carr, QB, Raiders 

Don Shula HS Coach of the Year: Randy Allen of Highland Park (Dallas, Texas)

"Greatness on the Road" Award: Le'Veon Bell, RB, Steelers 

Deacon Jones Award: Vic Beasley, OLB, Falcons

Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year: Dallas Cowboys

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year: Mike Evans, WR, Buccaneers

Read Full Story