Finch to captain Australia for Sri Lanka series


Aaron Finch has been named Australia captain for their three-match Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka.

Finch, who skippered his nation in T20s between 2014 and 2016, will lead a weakened squad for the series, which begins in Melbourne on February 17.

Skipper Steve Smith, vice-captain David Warner and Matthew Wade are all set to miss the Sri Lanka series.

"It's very exciting to be back and leading the side in Steve's absence," Finch said.

"It's been a rollercoaster from being captain leading up to the ICC World Twenty20, being injured and then Steve taking over the reins for that tournament but it's something that, any time you get the chance to captain your country in any format, you're very chuffed about.

"We'll be missing some big names, some of the biggest in world cricket, but you can't dwell on that and it will be a fantastic opportunity for guys who've performed well in the Big Bash League to push their case for further inclusion, and inclusion in the other formats too.

"There are some extraordinary players around the country that will now get an opportunity and I think that's only a good thing for Australian cricket."

Along with Smith, Warner and Wade, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood are also among those unavailable, with Australia preparing for a Test series in India.

Justin Langer is the acting head coach for the T20 series, with Ricky Ponting and Jason Gillespie his assistants.