Trio of changes to Sri Lanka ODI squad


Lahiru Kumara, Jeffrey Vandersay and Vikum Sanjaya have been called up by Sri Lanka as three changes to their original squad to face South Africa in the one-day international series.

The tourists, who came from behind to win the Twenty20 rubber 2-1, named an initial 16-man party on Tuesday but on Friday - a day before the first ODI in Port Elizabeth - announced a trio of alterations.

Isuru Udana, Thikshila de Silva and Seekkuge Prasanna are the men to make way, although no reasons for the changes were forthcoming from Sri Lanka Cricket.

Teenage seamer Kumara has four Tests under his belt - including the final two of the 3-0 whitewash to the Proteas either side of the turn of the year - but has yet to feature in international limited-overs contests.

Sanjaya, also a seamer, has no international experience of any kind, while leg-spinner Vandersay has seven T20I caps and comes in as a straight swap for Prasanna.

In the absence of regular captain Angelo Mathews (hamstring), Upul Tharanga will lead the side.


Sri Lanka ODI squad: Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Sandun Weerakkody, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Madushanka, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Vikum Sanjaya.