NHL All-Star game rosters feature Matthews, other young stars

The NHL's next generation of stars will be on display at the league's All-Star Weekend later this month.

Teenage rookies Auston Matthews and Patrik Laine were among the 40 players selected for the four teams that will face-off at Staples Center on January 29 event, the league announced on Tuesday.

Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Laine from the Winnipeg Jets will join one of last year's revelations, Edmonton Oilers' Connor McDavid - who was among four team captains picked earlier via a fan vote - on the 11-player rosters for the three-on-three tournament that will wrap up the weekend.

Despite the influx of fresh faces, plenty of the old guard will be on display in Los Angeles.

An impressive Central Division roster captained by P.K. Subban features defending Hart Trophy winner Patrick Kane and Chicago Blackhawks team-mates Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith and Corey Crawford, in addition to Tyler Seguin and Ryan Suter.

The Metropolitan Division features the high-profile trio of captain Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins team-mate Evgeni Malkin, and Washington Capitals rival Alex Ovechkin.

The teams will be coached by Montreal Canadiens' Michel Therrien (Atlantic), Minnesota Wild's Bruce Boudreau (Central), Columbus Blue Jackets' John Tortorella (Metropolitan) and New Jersey Devils' Peter DeBoer (Pacific).


Full team rosters:

Atlantic Division 

F   Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay Lightning)  
F   Brad Marchand (Boston Bruins) 
F   Auston Matthews (Toronto Maple Leafs)   
F   Frans Nielsen (Detroit Red Wings)   
F   Kyle Okposo (Buffalo Sabres)  
F   Vincent Trocheck (Florida Panthers)   
D   Victor Hedman (Tampa Bay Lightning)  
D   Erik Karlsson (Ottawa Senators)   
D   Shea Weber (Montreal Canadiens)   
G   Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens)*   
G   Tuukka Rask (Boston Bruins)   

Central Division

F   Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks)
F   Patrik Laine (Winnipeg Jets)
F   Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche)
F   Tyler Seguin (Dallas Stars)
F   Vladimir Tarasenko (St Louis Blues)
F   Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks)
D   Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks)
D   P.K. Subban (Nashville Predators)*
D   Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild)
G   Corey Crawford (Chicago Blackhawks)
G   Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota Wild)

Metropolitan Division

F   Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins)*
F   Taylor Hall (New Jersey Devils)
F   Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins)
F   Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)
F   Wayne Simmonds (Philadelphia Flyers)
F   John Tavares (New York Islanders)
D   Justin Faulk (Carolina Hurricanes)
D   Seth Jones (Columbus Blue Jackets)
D   Ryan McDonagh (New York Rangers)
G   Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets)
G   Braden Holtby (Washington Capitals)

Pacific Division

F   Jeff Carter (Los Angeles Kings)
F   Johnny Gaudreau (Calgary Flames)
F   Bo Horvat (Vancouver Canucks)
F   Ryan Kesler (Anaheim Ducks)
F   Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers)*
F   Joe Pavelski (San Jose Sharks)
D   Brent Burns (San Jose Sharks)
D   Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings)
D   Cam Fowler (Anaheim Ducks)
G   Martin Jones (San Jose Sharks)
G   Mike Smith (Arizona Coyotes)

* Fan-elected captain

Read Full Story