Tigers call up trio for Black Caps T20s

Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam and Shuvagata Hom have been included in a 15-man Bangladesh squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series against New Zealand.

The trio did not feature in any of the three one-day internationals, which were all comfortably won by the Black Caps, but are in contention to feature in the shortest format.

Paceman Rubel could make his first T20 for his country since facing face world champions West Indies back in August 2014.

Tanbir Hayder and all-rounder Mehedi Hasan miss out for the series which starts in Napier next Tuesday.

Tanbir's omission caps a miserable week for the spinner, who was reprimanded for using obscene language during the second game of the ODI series.

Mehedi, so impressive after being given his chance in the historic drawn Test series with England, played no part in the ODIs in New Zealand and will also have to wait for his T20 international debut.

Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shuvagata Hom, Subashis Roy, Taijul Islam, Nurul Hasan.


Read Full Story