Australia unchanged for Boxing Day Test


Steve Smith and Co. will head into the Boxing Day Test unchanged as Australia opted to stick with the same 12-man squad for the showdown against Pakistan in Melbourne.

Australia selectors, however, will monitor the fitness of their players after Monday's dramatic and gruelling 39-run win over Pakistan in the opening Test in Brisbane.

Pakistan fell agonisingly short in their record chase on the fifth and final day, dismissed for 450, as Australia bowlers toiled tirelessly in the day-night match.

The Australians were forced to bowl 145 overs in the fourth innings, with Mitchell Starc (4-119), Jackson Bird (3-110), Nathan Lyon (2-108) and Josh Hazlewood (0-99) continuously thwarted by man-of-the-match Asad Shafiq and Yasir Shah.

And the quartet will be assessed by selectors leading into the Test at the MCG, starting Monday.

"There's obviously a few tired legs in there but we got the job done and we have a couple of days off now before heading down to Melbourne," Starc told Channel Nine post-match.


Australia squad: David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (c), Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Chadd Sayers.