Connacht-Wasps result stands despite admission of refereeing error

Connacht's dramatic 20-18 win over Wasps in the European Champions Cup will be allowed to stand, despite European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR) conceding the line-out from which the Irish side scored a crucial try was wrongly awarded.

Referee Jerome Garces was replaced by touch judge Mathieu Raynal after he suffered a hamstring injury in Saturday's contest at The Sportsground.

And the change proved pivotal as Raynal allowed Connacht to take a line-out and continue the game despite the ball going out of play after the 80 minutes had elapsed.

Connacht took advantage of that slice of fortune - substitute Naulia Dawai went over after a rolling maul and Jack Carty nailed the resultant conversion to win the game with the final kick.

In a statement confirming the error, EPCR said: "EPCR would like to clarify an issue arising from yesterday's European Rugby Champions Cup, Round 4 match between Connacht Rugby and Wasps at The Sportsground.

"The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.

"However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby's Laws of the Game.

"EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands."

Read Full Story