Australia unchanged as Lyon faces Pakistan


Australia have opted for spinner Nathan Lyon for the opening Test against Pakistan in Brisbane after winning the toss on Thursday.

The Aussies had been pondering a four-pronged pace attack for the day-night match against Pakistan at the Gabba, with Chadd Sayers tipped to make his Test debut.

But Australia have named an unchanged line-up from the third-Test victory over South Africa last month, with veteran Lyon given the nod after captain Steve Smith decided to bat first in pristine conditions.

Lyon claimed figures of 3-63 and 2-43 as Australia defeated the Proteas in the pink-ball contest.

The 29-year-old has taken 24 wickets in his five matches at the Gabba.

Pakistan, meanwhile, have regained captain Misbah-Ul-Haq and legspinner Yasir Shah in the starting XI following their 2-0 series defeat to New Zealand.


Australia XI: David Warner, Matt Renshaw, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (c), Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson, Matthew Wade (wk), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Jackson Bird, Nathan Lyon.

Pakistan XI: Sami Aslam, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Misbah-Ul-Haq (c), Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali.