Sri Lanka turn to uncapped Sanjaya, Mathews returns


Uncapped paceman Vikum Sanjaya has been named in the Sri Lanka squad for their upcoming tour of South Africa.

The inexperienced quick took 6-73 in his last first-class match for Burgher Recreation Club and gets the nod in a touring party of 15 for a three-match Test series, which commences on Boxing Day.

Captain Angelo Mathews will fly out to South Africa on Saturday after sitting out the successful tour of Zimbabwe due to leg injuries.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Chandimal and fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera are also back in the squad.

Dhammika Prasad remains sidelined due to a shoulder injury, while all-rounder Asela Gunaratne and wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella miss out.


Sri Lanka squad:

Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunarathna, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Vikum Sanjaya, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera.