Australia unchanged for first Test against Pakistan


Australia have kept the faith by naming an unchanged team for the opening day-night Test against Pakistan in Brisbane next week.

A new era of Australian cricket was ushered against South Africa as three debutants made their Test bows in the seven-wicket victory in Adelaide last week, which ended a run of five consecutive losses.

Matthew Renshaw, Peter Handscomb and Nic Maddinson all debuted and the trio will be in the thick of the action again when the first Test gets underway against ICC's second-ranked nation at the Gabba, starting on December 15.

Matthew Wade also impressed behind the stumps after replacing wicketkeeper Peter Nevill for the pink-ball match at Adelaide Oval, while Jackson Bird was effective with the ball.

"We were very pleased with how the team came together in Adelaide after some significant changes following the Tests in Perth and Hobart," said interim national selector Trevor Hohns following the announcement of the 12-man squad.

"This is a young group with a lot of promise and we believe all deserve their opportunity again in this upcoming Test."

Handscomb and Renshaw were particularly impressive against the Proteas, with the former scoring 54 runs in the first innings.

Renshaw earned plenty of praise for his steadying 34 to open the batting in the second innings as Steve Smith's Australia claimed a consolation victory.

The star of the show, however, was Usman Khawaja, who produced a man-of-the-match display following his 145-run knock.


Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner, Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nic Maddinson, Nathan Lyon, Matthew Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.