Morgan, Hales and Root return to England ODI squad


Eoin Morgan, Alex Hales and Joe Root have all returned to the England squad for the forthcoming limited-overs tour to India.

Captain Morgan and Hales were absent for the one-day international series in Bangladesh in October, having made themselves unavailable for selection due to security concerns.

Root, meanwhile, was rested for that 2-1 series victory, but all three are included for a schedule of three ODIs and Twenty20 Internationals, which kick-off with a 50-over contest in Pune on January 15.

The trio are included at the expense of Ben Duckett, James Vince and Steven Finn, who was a late addition to the Bangladesh touring squad, flying out as a replacement for the injured Mark Wood.

After the opening ODI, England face further matches in Cuttack and Kolkata, before visiting Kanpur, Nagpur and Bangalore in the T20Is.

England's Test side are 2-0 down after three matches of their five-Test series in India.


England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes.

England T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey.