FIA confirms 20-race schedule for 2017 F1 season


The FIA has announced a 20-race schedule for the 2017 Formula One season, with the omission of the German Grand Prix confirmed.

Hockenheim returned to the calendar this year after financial difficulties resulted in the end of F1's relationship with the Nurburgring in 2015.

Hockenheim boss Georg Seiler revealed last Friday that efforts to strike a deal had fallen through.

Imola was touted as a potential replacement for the German Grand Prix, but instead the number of races has been cut to 20.

Melbourne will once again raise the curtain on the season, while the race in Baku has been moved to avoid a clash with the Le Mans 24 Hours.

The mid-season break will come after Hungary on July 30, with action resuming at Spa-Francorchamps in late August.

Monza is another historic circuit to have retained its place on the calendar after agreeing a new deal for the hosting rights this week, while the final race will again take place in Abu Dhabi.

Brazil remains on the calendar despite fears over its F1 future.