The Puskas nominees for best goal of the year are here

Fifa has announced the top 10 shortlist for the coveted Puskas award, which goes to the scorer of the year's best goal.

The prize has gone to the biggest names in football over the years, including Ronaldo and Ibrahimovic, as well as a few unknowns who produced a second of magic.

Alongside usual suspects Messi and Neymar is the less likely Hal Robson-Kanu, for his effort against Belgium in the Euros.

Robson-Kanu wheels away in celebration after scoring against Belgium (Michael Sohn/AP)
Robson-Kanu wheels away in celebration after scoring against Belgium (Michael Sohn/AP)

Other nominees include Faiz Subri's impossible free kick in the Malaysian super league and Atletico's Saul Niguez's dazzling solo against Bayern in the Champions league.

A Venezuelan girl, Daniuska Rodriguez, also makes the shortlist for her screamer in the u17 women's football championship.

Meanwhile, Simon Skrabb's scorpion kick is doing wonders for Finland's street rep.

There were a few notable snubs people were not happy about, with Xerdan Shaqiri's name coming up repeatedly for his extraordinary bicycle kick in the Euros.

Xerdan Shaqiri in mid-air (Michael Sohn/AP)
Xerdan Shaqiri in mid-air (Michael Sohn/AP)

Other mentions included Kevin Prince-Boateng's stunner against Villareal and Dele Alli's cracker against Palace.

The Puskas award was created in 2009 in memory of Ferenc Puskas, the captain and star of the 1950s Hungarian national team and Real Madrid legend.

The winner will be announced at the The Best Fifa Football Awards on January 9.

It's not guaranteed to get you a multi-million pound transfer though.

Last season's Brazilian winner Wendell Lira has retired aged 27 to focus on a career in playing FIFA and other Esports.

The shortlist can be watched in full here.

Read Full Story