Boyd, Cronk, Smith and Taumalolo make up Golden Boot shortlist


Three members of Australia's victorious Four Nations squad are in the running for the Golden Boot award, with Darius Boyd, Cooper Cronk and Kangaroos captain Cameron Smith joined on the four-man shortlist by New Zealand's Jason Taumalolo.

The nominations for the prestigious prize - awarded annually to the leading player in the 13-man code - were announced by Rugby League World magazine on Sunday, following Australia's emphatic 34-8 victory over the Kiwis in the Four Nations final at Anfield.

Melbourne Storm hooker Smith is the only nominee to have previously won the Golden Boot, back in 2007.

His club team-mate Cronk and North Queensland Cowboys second-rower Taumalolo were the joint-winners of this year's Dally M Medal, while Boyd enjoyed a fine season with Brisbane Broncos and was among the Kangaroos' try-scorers in Liverpool.

The current holder of the Golden Boot is another Australian, Johnathan Thurston, who scooped the prize for a record third time in 2015.

Benji Marshall (2010), Kevin Sinfield (2012) and Shaun Johnson (2014) are the only non-Australian winners of the award in the past decade.