Lindor, Posey among nine first-time winners

The 2016 MLB season's list of Gold Glove Award winners, announced on Tuesday, featured a number of new faces.

Nine first-time winners made the cut, including Cleveland Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor and Boston Red Sox outfielder Mookie Betts in the American League.

In the National League, Buster Poster, long the bridesmaid in this race, busted Yadier Molina's eight-season stranglehold on the elusive award for the first of his decorated career.

Posey was joined by San Francisco Giants infielders Joe Panik, another first-timer, and Brandon Crawford, who became the NL's first Gold Glove middle infield team-mates since Fernando Vina and Edgar Renteria in 2002 with the St Louis Cardinals.

Lindor, at 22 perhaps baseball's brightest rising middle infield star, joined Alan Trammell (1980) as the only shortstops under the age of 23 to win a Gold Glove.

The Giants were the only team with three winners. The Texas Rangers and Chicago Cubs were the only others with multiple players on the list.


American League

Catcher: Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals

First baseman: Mitch Moreland, Texas Rangers

Second baseman: Ian Kinsler, Detroit Tigers

Shortstop: Francisco Lindor, Cleveland Indians

Third baseman: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers

Left field: Brett Gardner, New York Yankees

Center field: Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays

Right field: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros


National League

Catcher: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants

First baseman: Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs

Second baseman: Joe Panik, San Francisco Giants

Shortstop: Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants

Third baseman: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

Left Field: Starling Marte, Pittsburgh Pirates

Center field: Ender Inciarte, Atlanta Braves

Right field: Jason Heyward, Chicago Cubs

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks

Read Full Story