Williams out of Wallabies Test, Jenkins named captain


Gethin Jenkins will captain a Wales side which will not include Liam Williams when they face Australia in Cardiff on Saturday.

Scarlets full-back Williams misses out after failing to recover from an ankle injury in time for the Test at the Principality Stadium.

Leigh Halfpenny returns at full-back for his first international appearance since last September, with Alex Cuthbert preferred to Hallam Amos on the wing.

Prop Jenkins skippers Rob Howley's side in the absence of the injured Sam Warburton and Alun Wyn Jones, who will miss Wales' first November Test following the death of his father.

Uncapped duo Cory Hill and Sam Davies are in line to make their debuts after being named among the replacements.

"It's great to welcome back Leigh Halfpenny, Dan Lydiate and Alex Cuthbert, who missed the New Zealand tour, plus George North and Gethin Jenkins, who left the tour early with injury," said interim head coach Howley.

"We have a vast amount of experience in the squad, we've trained really well over the last two weeks and are really excited for Saturday.

"With losing Sam Warburton, Taulupe Faletau and Alun Wyn Jones, we have spoken a lot about the leadership group this week and their importance on the field.

"From the Welsh squad's perspective, our thoughts go out to Alun Wyn and his family at this difficult time. As a squad, we have a mantra of family coming first off the field, that's always the case and obviously so here.

"With the two uncapped players, Sam Davies has played particularly well, he deserves his chance and hopefully will have an influence on the game. Cory comes onto the bench, with Rory [Thornton] having picked up a back spasm, and we are delighted with him and how he has stepped up to this level in training."


Wales team: Leigh Halfpenny, Alex Cuthbert, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, George North, Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb; Gethin Jenkins (captain), Ken Owens, Samson Lee, Bradley Davies,  Luke Charteris, Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric, Ross Moriarty.

Replacements: Scott Baldwin, Nicky Smith, Tomas Francis, Cory Hill, James King, Gareth Davies, Sam Davies, Hallam Amos.