Open qualifying series expanded

The Open Championship qualifying series has been expanded, with 44 places up for grabs after the addition of two events.

In a new schedule announced on Thursday, it was revealed the Singapore Open and Ho Tram Players Championship in Vietnam would take the total number of tournaments in the series to 15.

The revised format includes 10 countries, with the Australian Open - which begins on November 17 in Sydney - offering the first opportunity for players to seal a spot at the 146th Open at Royal Birkdale next year.

Henrik Stenson won the Claret Jug in 2016, overcoming Phil Mickelson in a stunning final-day showdown at Royal Troon.

Read Full Story