Pakistan select Sharjeel, Rizwan for New Zealand tour


Uncapped batsmen Sharjeel Khan and Mohammad Rizwan have been named in the squad for Pakistan's Test series away to New Zealand.

Opener Sharjeel has been called up for the long-form of the game for the first time, having made 17 one-day and 12 Twenty20 international appearances.

Middle-order batsman Rizwan was part of the squad that toured England earlier this year but did not feature in the drawn Test series and was omitted from the side to face West Indies in three Tests in the United Arab Emirates.  

"The Test team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions in New Zealand and the recent performances of players in the recent Test series against England and West Indies," chief selector Inzamam ul Haq said in a statement on the PCB website.

"The team is a fine blend of experience and youth, and the selectors have [stuck] to the same combination of players selected against England and West Indies series earlier and believe that team will do well in the tour," the former Test captain added.

The first match of the two-Test series begins in Christchurch on November 17.


Pakistan team in full: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Sharjeel Khan, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Sohail Khan, Imran Khan.