O'Brien, O'Mahony return for Ireland's All Black clash


Peter O'Mahony and Sean O'Brien have been named in the 34-man Ireland squad to face New Zealand in Chicago on November 5 after overcoming their respective injuries.

Back-rower O'Mahony has not featured for his country since sustaining an anterior cruciate ligament injury at the 2015 Rugby World Cup, only making his return for Munster this month.

O'Brien, meanwhile, missed the tour to South Africa in June after sustaining hamstring damage at the Six Nations.

Head coach Joe Schmidt has also selected six uncapped players in Leinster quartet Joey Carbery, Luke McGrath, Garry Ringrose and James Tracy, and Munster duo Billy Holland and John Ryan.

"Selections were difficult as always; trying to balance form, fitness, experience, combinations plus assess those players returning from injury or those carrying minor knocks or strains," he said.

"With more than half the squad likely to be involved in Pro12 action this weekend, plus the need to factor in the travel and fatigue from the Chicago fixture, there are also a number of players on standby who are likely to be involved during the first two weeks of the Guinness Series."

Ian Madigan has been left out, while Iain Henderson misses out due to a shoulder injury and Keith Earls is suspended after receiving a two-match ban for a dangerous tackle on Fraser Brown in Munster's European Champions Cup clash with Glasgow Warriors on Saturday.