Ashwin heads trio rested by India for ODIs


India have opted to rest Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami for their upcoming one day international series with New Zealand.

The trio have all been part of India's Test side against the Black Caps but will get the opportunity to rest for the opening three of five matches.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Amit Mishra and Ajinkya Rahane all return to the limited overs squad after being rested for the recent series with Zimbabwe, with MS Dhoni continuing to lead the side.

There are also places for Mandeep Singh and Hardik Pandya, while Suresh Raina returns after a year in the cold, the 29-year-old having not featured in the 50-over format since last October's series with South Africa.

India are without the injured Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the matches, while Ishant Sharma continues to be sidelined with chikungunya.

Dharmasala hosts the opening game of the series after the third Test in Indore - which begins on Saturday - before the two sides visit Delhi, Chandigarh, Ranchi and Visakhapatnam.

India ODI squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav.