Thompson ready to go home after Diamond League win


Olympic champion Elaine Thompson set a new Diamond League record in Zurich on Thursday, chasing down Dafne Schippers around the bend to win a thrilling 200 metres.

Victory in 21.85 seconds was not enough to take the overall event title, however, with Schippers having already claimed the 200m Diamond Trophy title, and Thompson said she was looking forward to heading home after winning two golds and a silver in Rio.

"I am grateful. I came out as a winner and I am happy," said Thompson, who also won the sprint relay with her Jamaican team-mates.

"This is a blast. I came out to execute well. This is my first time in Zurich. It was a long season and my last stop will be in Brussels. I have not been home since Rio and I am longing to get home to Jamaica."

Asafa Powell claimed the men's 100m Diamond Trophy after winning in 9.94s to overhaul the competition leader Ben Youssef Meite of Ivory Coast, who finished second in Thursday's race and third overall.

There was delight for Great Britain's Laura Muir, who was second behind Shannon Rowbury in the women's 1500m in Zurich but did just enough to win the Diamond Race overall.

"I didn't know at first if I'd won the Diamond Race, but this is a big, big thing for me," said Muir. "It's amazing, I never expected anything like this."

Christian Taylor (long jump) wrapped up his fifth Diamond Trophy by setting a meeting record, while fellow American LaShawn Merritt won the 400m in 44.64s, narrowly holding off Grenada's Bralon Taplin to claim his third Diamond Trophy.

French pole vaulter Renaud Lavillenie finished joint first with Sam Kendricks to confirm his seventh Diamond Trophy after being reduced to tears by the boos of supporters at the Olympics in August. 

Two-time Olympic champion Sandra Perkovic (discus) meanwhile became the first women to win five Diamond Trophy titles.

Olympic gold medallist Caster Semenya won the 800m in 1 minutes 56.44 seconds to secure her Diamond Trophy, although the South African was unable to deliver a new world record time.

Olympic champion Ruth Jebet won the 3000m steeplechase.

Ethiopia's Hagos Gebrhiwet (5000m) won his race and claimed the Diamond Trophy after compatriot Muktar Edris faded, with Olympic champions Kerron Clement (400m hurdles) and Ruth Beitia (high jump) among the other victors at the meeting.

World record-holder Kendra Harrison, who missed out on Olympic qualification, won the women's 100m hurdles in 12.63s for her sixth Diamond League victory of 2016.