Taranaki rally to win, Waikato retain shield

Taranaki stormed home in the second half to beat Hawke's Bay and make it two wins from as many games in the Mitre 10 Cup.

After starting their Premier Division campaign with a win over Bay of Plenty, Taranaki backed it up on Saturday with a 55-28 victory at Yarrow Stadium.

But they needed six second-half tries to secure their latest victory as Iopu Iopu-Aso, Rhys Marshall, Manasa Mataele, Marty McKenzie, Declan O'Donnell and Trinity Spooner-Neera all crossed after the interval.

McKenzie also kicked nine out of 10 with the boot as he finished with 25 points for Colin Cooper's team.

The hosts scored 31 unanswered points either side of half-time after falling 14-0 down against Hawke's Bay, who last won at Taranaki in 1972.

Earlier, Waikato retained the Ranfurly Shield thanks to a 26-15 win over North Harbour in Hamilton.

Isaac Boss and Loni Uhila went over in the opening minutes to set up the victory.

Read Full Story