Broncos deny Storm minor premiership title


Tom Opacic scored two tries as Brisbane Broncos prevented Melbourne Storm from sealing the minor premiership title by winning 26-16 at AAMI Park on Friday.

A victory in their penultimate match of the NRL season would have ensured the Storm lift the J.J. Giltinan Shield, but the Broncos moved into a share of fourth place by outscoring Craig Bellamy's men by five tries to three.

Centre Opacic took a pass from Sam Thaiday to go over for the first try just two minutes in and Jordan Kahu took off into the corner for a second with only eight minutes on the clock.

Cameron Smith gave Tohu Harris the chance to get the Storm on the board and he obliged with the leaders' opening try, but Opacic took advantage of a mistake by Marika Koroibete to put the Broncos 14-4 at up half-time after Kahu slotted over a penalty.

Darius Boyd powered his way through the Storm defence to strengthen the Broncos' grip on the game and Jai Arrow got on the end of a Kahu kick after Cooper Cronk slipped to score his first NRL try.

Ben Hampton had given the Storm hope with a try before that Arrow score and Smith added another late try on a night in which he booted his 900th NRL goal, but the Broncos were worthy winners as they build momentum heading into the finals.

Second-placed Cronulla Sharks will need a victory over Sydney Roosters on Saturday to have any chance of stopping the Storm from being crowned minor premiers.