Bhuvneshwar blitz skittles West Indies


Bhuvneshwar Kumar ripped through the West Indies with a devastating spell of bowling that puts India in a commanding position in the third Test at Gros Islet.

Aggressive batting by Ajinkya Rahane (51 not out) and Rohit Sharma (41 not out) at the end of fourth day then led India to a 285-run lead with seven wickets remaining.

Bhuvneshwar's fine figures of 5-33 included the prize wicket of Marlon Samuels (48) as West Indies lost their last seven wickets for just 23 runs, slumping from 202-4 to 225 all out.

Opener Kraigg Brathwaite top-scored with 64 but after he was caught behind off the bowling of Ravichandran Ashwin (2-52), India scented blood and West Indies duly collapsed after lunch.

Samuels and Jermaine Blackwood added 67 for the fourth wicket but when Bhuvneshwar had Blackwood caught in the slips, Samuels followed a single run later to the same bowler, the West Indies batsman chopping on to his own stumps.

Bhuvneshwar followed up that brace by claiming the wickets of Shane Dowrich (18), Jason Holder (2) and Alzarri Joseph, who was out for a duck, giving India a healthy first-innings lead of 128.

A low run rate did not help West Indies either, their 225 runs coming off 103.4 overs, although time was taken out of the match earlier by Thursday's scheduled play being completely washed out.

Miguel Cummins (2-22) made an early breakthrough for West Indies, removing opener Lokesh Rahul (28), as India tried to score quickly in an attempt to build a match-winning lead.

Virat Kohli (4) was trapped lbw by Cummins as West Indies briefly threatened to run through India's top order, especially when opener Shikhar Dhawan (26) then fell to spinner Roston Chase's (1-41) third ball.

Rahane and Rohit then steadied the ship for India, their unbeaten 85-run partnership putting India in a position from which they can push on when play resumes on Saturday. 

An overnight declaration from captain Kohli is also a slim possibility as India look to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the four-match Test series.