Cooper set for Maroons debut


North Queensland Cowboys forward Gavin Cooper has been named to make his State of Origin debut for the Maroons.

Cooper, 30, was on Monday included in the team to take on New South Wales in a dead rubber at ANZ Stadium on July 13.

He will become the 185th player to represent Queensland, while Nate Myles makes his return from injury.

Michael Morgan and Josh Papalii are out injured for the clash.

The Maroons have already sealed their 10th title in 11 years, taking an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.


Queensland team in full:
Darius Boyd, Gavin Cooper, Cooper Cronk, Dane Gagai, Matt Gillett, Aidan Guerra, Greg Inglis, Jacob Lillyman, Josh McGuire, Nate Myles, Corey Oates, Justin O'Neill, Corey Parker, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith, Johnathan Thurston, Sam Thaiday