Rugby Championship introduces new bonus-point system


The Rugby Championship will introduce a new bonus-point system for the 2016 tournament.

Teams will be awarded an additional point for finishing three or more tries ahead of their opponents, instead of the four-try bonus point previously in place.

The same system was introduced in Super Rugby this season, while the point for losing by seven or fewer points remains.

"SANZAAR EXCO reviewed the bonus-point system implemented into Super Rugby this year and believed it had a significant impact in rewarding the more dominant teams, created a competition for the full 80 minutes and is providing a reward system that recognises both attack and defence," CEO Andy Marinos said.

"Having witnessed some of the most exciting and complete 80-minute games in the history of the competition this season, spurred on by the introduction of the new bonus-point system, we believe that across the SANZAAR tournaments, for the sake of the players, broadcasters and the fans, we should have consistency in terms of the tournament points system."

It was also confirmed that Argentina will face Australia at Twickenham in London on October 8.

Australia, last year's champions, meet New Zealand in their opener, while South Africa take on Argentina on August 20.