Coetzee keeps faith with available Springboks


South Africa coach Allister Coetzee has opted to keep faith with the majority of the players involved in last weekend's stunning first-Test defeat to Ireland in Cape Town.

Both countries named their teams for Saturday's second Test in Johannesburg on Thursday, with the only changes to the Springboks' starting XV both enforced.

Pat Lambie is replaced at fly-half by Elton Jantjies, who came off the bench at Newlands when his team-mate was concussed by a dangerous tackle from CJ Stander, while Pieter-Steph du Toit comes in for Lood de Jager (calf).

Franco Mostert and Ruan Combrinck could make their Test debuts after being named among the replacements. Morne Steyn also makes the bench having been called up as cover when Lambie was hurt.

South Africa lost the first Test despite playing against 14 men for almost three quarters of the match following Stander's first-half dismissal.

Yet Coetzee said: "I believe players who played in Cape Town deserve another opportunity and I am looking forward to see what they can do this week.

"We spoke hard and were very frank in our assessment of last week's performance.The Springboks are capable of executing the fundamentals of the game much better and that's what we will set out do on Saturday."

Ireland are without back-row forward Stander, who was banned for one match following his challenge that injured Lambie last weekend.

Rhys Ruddock benefits from Stander's absence, with Iain Henderson switching to blindside flanker, while Connacht's Quinn Roux is handed a Test debut in the second row.

Craig Gilroy, Tadhg Furlong and Stuart Olding also come in, the latter awarded a first start since his debut against the United States three years ago.

The Springboks must win this weekend to keep the series alive ahead of next Saturday's final Test in Port Elizabeth.


South Africa team: Willie le Roux, JP Pietersen, Lionel Mapoe, Damien De Allende, Lwazi Mvovo, Elton Jantjies, Faf du Klerk; Tendai Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss (captain), Frans Malherbe, Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Francois Louw, Siya Kolisi, Duane Vermuelen.

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, Julian Redelinghuys, Franco Mostert, Warren Whiteley, Rudy Paige, Morne Steyn, Ruan Combrinck.


Ireland team: Jared Payne, Andrew Trimble, Robbie Henshaw, Stuart Olding, Craig Gilroy, Paddy Jackson, Conor Murray; Jack McGrath, Rory Best, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Quinn Roux, Iain Henderson, Rhys Ruddock, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Donnacha Ryan, Sean Reidy, Kieran Marmion, Ian Madigan, Tiernan O'Halloran.