Mills handed England T20 call

England have included rapid pace bowler Tymal Mills in their T20 squad to face Sri Lanka next month.

The uncapped 23-year-old seamer had been heavily tipped to be with a call-up having impressed for Sussex Sharks in the early stages of the T20 Blast this season.

Mills clocked speeds of over 90 miles per hour when giving Chris Gayle a torrid time against Somerset, including taking the West Indies star's wicket, before registering figures of 3-15 in Friday's contest with Kent.

Last year, Mills was forced to retire from first-class cricket due to a congenital back condition, but with head coach Trevor Bayliss keen to inject pace into England's white ball line-up he remained on the radar for the international limited-overs team.

Middlesex batsman Dawid Malan will also hope to make his international debut in the only T20 match on July 5 having been included in the 13-man squad, while spinner Liam Dawson is the other uncapped player in the team, having failed to break into the side despite being included in this year's World Twenty20 squad.

Seven players remain from the side that lost the World T20 final against West Indies, with Moeen Ali, Joe Root and Alex Hales all rested and Ben Stokes still absent with a knee injury.

However, Root, Moeen and Hales are all included in England's 14-man squad for a five-match one-day international series that takes place between June 21 and July 2.

Steven Finn also returns to the 50-over team for the first time in nine months after a foot injury saw him miss the tour of Pakistan last year, and a side strain in the Test series in South Africa ruled him out of the limited-overs matches.


ODI squad in full: Eoin Morgan (C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow. Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes 

T20 squad in full: Eoin Morgan (C), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey 

Read Full Story