Cheika names three debutants for England Test


There are plenty of new faces in the Wallabies side, after Australia named their squad for the first Test of three against England in Brisbane on Saturday.

Rory Arnold, Samu Kerevi and Dane Haylett-Petty were the three debutants named to start against England as coach Michael Cheika looks to extend Australia's dominance over England, who are led by former Wallabies coach Eddie Jones.

Karmichael Hunt is one player who will not be making his debut, while Reece Hodge, who had been tipped to debut off the bench, also missed out.

Kervei's selection in the middle alongside Tevita Kuridrani sees Cheika move away from his preferred dual playmaking structure, while Arnold's inclusion comes off the back of an impressive training camp with the imposing 208cm second-rower partnering Rob Simmons.

But while Australia feature's three debutants, Cheika's side is short on experience.

Captain Stephen Moore makes the line-up for his 103rd Test, while Simmons, Michael Hooper and David Pocock all have over 50 Tests to their name.

NSW Waratahs excitement-machine Israel Folau will also start in his usual position at full-back, having been rumoured to move into the centre, with club team-mates Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley set to start.

There is plenty of experience on the bench, too, as Tatafu Polota-Nau (61 Tests), James Slipper (74), Sekope Kepu (63) and James Horwill (61) are all named among the replacements.

Christian Lealiifano was a late arrival to the camp having stayed in Canberra to be with his pregnant wife ahead of the birth of their first child before heading to Brisbane on Wednesday, which did not give him enough time to make the starting team.

Instead, he will play back up to fly-half Bernard Foley.


Australia: Scott Sio, Stephen Moore (captain), Greg Holmes, Rory Arnold, Rob Simmons, Scott Fardy - Brumbies, Michael Hooper, David Pocock, Nick Phipps - Waratahs, Bernard Foley, Rob Horne, Samu Kerevi, Tevita Kuridrani, Dane Haylett-Petty, Israel Folau

Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Sekope Kepu, James Horwill, Dean Mumm, Sean McMahon, Nick Frisby, Christian Lealiifano