England to meet Australia in Champions Trophy, India grouped with Pakistan


The draw for next year's Champions Trophy has grouped hosts England with old rivals Australia, and India with Pakistan.

Edgbaston, Cardiff and The Oval will serve as the venues for the eight-team, 50-over tournament, which takes place in June 2017.

England open the tournament against Bangladesh at The Oval on June 1, with Australia and New Zealand - the 2015 Cricket World Cup finalists - their other opponents in Group A.

Group B sees India, who won the previous Champions Trophy in England three years ago, joined by rivals Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka. India's meeting with Pakistan will take place at Edgbaston on June 4.

Two teams from each pool qualify for the semi-finals, with the final scheduled for June 18 at The Oval.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: "The ICC Champions Trophy is a short and sharp event, which is followed and enjoyed by the spectators and players alike.

"It carries a great deal of value since it is being played just three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 qualification cut-off date. As such, every point earned here could be crucial."

West Indies missed out on qualification for the Champions Trophy, having been ranked ninth in the ODI rankings at last September's cut-off point.


Champions Trophy groups

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh.

Group B: India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan.