Thakur elected BCCI president

Anurag Thakur has been named Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president after being unanimously elected as Shashank Manohar's replacement.

Politician Thakur - whose tenure will run until 2017 - steps up from his previous role with the governing body as honorary secretary, a position that will now be filled by Ajay Shirke.

His election was confirmed by the BCCI following a special general meeting of the board on Sunday, Thakur having filed his nomination for president 24 hours earlier.

The 41-year-old takes over after Manohar stepped down earlier this month to allow him to run for ICC president, a post he was elected to unopposed on May 12.

Read Full Story