Debutants headline Blues squad for Origin I


Rookies Adam Reynolds, Tyson Frizell, Josh Mansour, Matt Moylan and Dylan Walker were all picked by Laurie Daley on Monday.

NSW Blues coach Laurie Daley has included five debutants in his squad to face Queensland Maroons in next week's State of Origin opener.

Rookies Adam Reynolds, Tyson Frizell, Josh Mansour, Matt Moylan and Dylan Walker have all been named by Daley in his 19-man squad - led by captain Paul Gallen - ahead of Origin I in Sydney on June 1.

St George Illawarra Dragons' Bryce Cartwright was also picked outside the squad as a development player on Monday.

Sydney Roosters half-back Mitchell Pearce - suspended and fined for simulating a sex act with a dog on Australia Day in January - and Trent Hodkinson of Newcastle Knights were among the players overlooked as Daley attempts to revitalise the squad following last year's 52-6 drubbing in the decider at the hands of the Maroons, who won the best-of-three series 2-1.

"I'm excited for these guys who are here today and I'm sure they'll wear the Blues jersey with great passion," said Daley, who is yet to name positions with some players in doubt.

"I feel for those guys [who didn't get picked]."


NSW squad:

Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans), Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters), Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons), Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers), Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters), Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks), Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons), Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks), Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bulldogs), Michael Jennings (Parramatta Eels), David Klemmer (Canterbury Bulldogs), James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks), Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers), Josh Morris (Canterbury Bulldogs), Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers), Adam Reynolds (South Sydney Rabbitohs), James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys), Dylan Walker (Manly Sea Eagles), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers), Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers)