10 key points from the proposed Football League restructure

The Football League has proposed the introduction of a fifth division in a radical shake-up of the English club game. The governing body wants four divisions of 20 teams below the Premier League by the 2019-20 season.

Here are the key points of chief executive Shaun Harvey's plans:

Football League chief executive Shaun Harvey
(Tim Goode/PA)

1. A five-division professional league of 20 teams each for the 2019-20 season.

2. The Premier League will be the top division with the Football League administering the next four divisions.

3. Six new teams will be added, along with two promoted teams from the National League creating 100 professional teams.

Grimsby Town players celebrate their promotion
(Adam Davy/EMPICS Sport)

4. Promotion to and relegation from the Premier League will be retained at three places.

5. No teams will be relegated from the Football League in 2018-19.

6. Football League clubs will vote on the proposals next summer.

Miniature Plymouth Argyle balls
(Julian Herbert/PA)

7. The League Cup will be retained in its current format to include two-legged semi-finals.

8. The Football League Trophy could include a group structure of three games and a knock-out thereafter.

9. The Football League Trophy could also include Premier League B teams.

10. Further discussions are planned on the removal of FA Cup replays, a winter break and the future of the Community Shield.

Read Full Story